24-Hour Hotline: 210-349-7273

Who We Are

Who We Are

Our Mission

To be a national leader providing excellent care for those impacted by sexual violence through crisis intervention, counseling and prevention education.

Our Vision

We are recognized as the national leader in ending sexual violence.

About Us

Built out of response to a need in our community and born from grassroots efforts, The Rape Crisis Center has been empowering survivors since 1975. We help to ensure a responsive medical community, sensitive law enforcement and an active prosecution system.

We provide accommodations to eliminate barriers to access and offer a continuum of care- from intervention to prevention and advocacy, including wrap-around resources. We provide free and confidential counseling, 24-hour crisis intervention support and a public education program that promotes healthy relationships and advances social change. We not only educate the community through presentations, but also through events, campaigns and dynamic partnerships with local businesses and organizations.

Our goal is to end violence before it begins. We won’t stop until we achieve our vision of a safe, healthy and equitable San Antonio for all.

Guiding Principles

  • Services are client-centered.
  • We seek to empower survivors.
  • Services promote the safety of survivors.
  • Services are provided without judgement.

Senior Leadership

Deana Franks
Interim Executive Director

dfranks@rapecrisis.com

Debbi Walker
Bookkeeper/HR

dwalker@rapecrisis.com

Jennifer Tristan
Director of Education and Training

jtristan@rapecrisis.com

Carmen Vasquez
Clinical Director

mcvasquez@rapecrisis.com

Stacey Schwab
Volunteer Director

sschwab@rapecrisis.com   

Grace Estrada
Client Services Manager

gestrada@rapecrisis.com

Craig Collins
Director of Information Technology

ccollins@rapecrisis.com

Board of Trustees

Jiletta Kubena, MA, PhD
Our Lady of the Lake University
February 2012
Chair

Carrie Robles
Harland Clarke
February 2012
Chair Elect

Teresa Beckelheimer
Oracle USA
February 2014
Vice Chair

Sanam Ali, CPA
KPMG LLP
May 2015
Treasurer

Mark J. Samas, CPA
Weilbacher & Associates, P.C.
August 2015
Secretary

Randolph Baker
August 2013
Member

Stephanie Cano-Qualls
Grande Communications
August 2015
Member

Dianna Carmenaty, MPA, PhD
Catalyst for Change
September 2015
Member

Brittany M. Weil
Curl Stahl Geis, PC
January 2016
Member

Nico LaHood
District Attorney
April 2015
Ex-Officio Member

Daniel Katka
United States Air Force
January 2017
Member

Cesar Garcia
Cesar Garcia Law Firm
March 2017
Member

Phyllis Viagran, CTA
Visit San Antonio
March 2017
Member